Nov 232011

This is the clear cut message to the ‘Aam Admi of India’ that only you will be punished for offending laws but law makers will keep breaking it openly without any fear or action against them.

According to the new revealed query of RTI, many sitting and former MPs from various parties owe a huge Rs.9 crore to state-run telecom provider MTNL, who get 1.5 lakh free calls including dial-up internet facility, over and above the free calls they are allowed.

There are 399 MPs in the listed in the reply who alone owe Rs.7.10 crore dues to MTNL, followed by Rs.1.97 crore owed by six sitting members.

“It is not clear how MTNL will recover such heavy amount. Rules should allow auto-deduction of all government bills from salaries and pensions of present and former parliamentarians,” said Subhash Chandra Agrawal, the RTI activist who filled the application.

The list for former MPs defaulting upon their bills is led by Rajya Sabha ex-member Janardhan Yadav ( Bharatiya Janata Party) whose pending bill is around Rs.22.29 lakh.

Others in the list include ex-Lok Sabha MPBasavaraj Patil ( Congress) whose dues amount to around Rs.17.20 lakh followed by late Rajya Sabha MP K. Mohammad Khan (Congress) who owed Rs.15.28 lakh to MTNL.

The list of defaulting sitting MPs is led by Rajya Sabha MP Narender Budhania (Congress) with Rs. 13.37 lakh unpaid followed by Lok Sabha MP Ram Sunder Das (Janata Dal-United), with Rs.9.49 lakh, and Bhakta Charan Das (Congress) whose dues are Rs.3.3l lakh.

News Source: The Times of India

Related posts:

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.