Nov 142011

Justice finally came out against the accused responsible for 1993 Surat bomb blasts.  A former Congress minister of Gujarat and five others were on Saturday sentenced to 20-year imprisonment for their involvement in an April 1993 bomb blast in Surat, in which a school girl was killed and about 30 others were injured.

1993 Surat blasts convicts (from left) Hussain Ghadiyali, Mushtak Ibrahim Patel, Mohammad Surti, Iqbal Vadiwalla and Yousuf Dadu, who were sentenced to 20 years in jail by a special TADA Court in Surat on Saturday. - PTI Photo

The accused were alleged to have used government vehicles to transport bombs and other equipment for the blast. The TADA court examined more than 300 witnesses and based its judgment on the Forensic Science Laboratory report on the blast.

In all, there were 24 accused, of whom at least five are still absconding, while one has died since then.

A special TADA court in Surat found Mohammad Surti and his accomplices guilty of the bomb blast and handed them the sentence. Seven others were sentenced to 10 years’ imprisonment. – Reported by The Hindu

You can also follow News of Delhi  on Twitter and Facebook.

Related posts:

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.